Universidad de Zaragoza CSIC
Luis Antonio Oro Giral
Category Profesor Emérito
Department: ISQCH - Departamento 2: Catálisis y Procesos Catalíticos
Phone / Ext.: +34 976 76 11 43
Email: oro@unizar.es
Participant group: ISQCH - Catálisis Homogénea por Compuestos Organometálicos

Luis A. Oro obtained his Ph. D. in 1970 from the University of Zaragoza. He carried out his postdoctoral studies at Cambridge University (1972-1973). He has served on the faculties of the University of Zaragoza, Madrid Complutense, and Santander, and became chair professor of Inorganic Chemistry in Zaragoza in 1982, being since 2015 Emeritus professor. He has been the head of the Instituto Universitario de Catalisis Homogenea (2004-2013). He has been Visiting Professor at several European Universities and, since 2010, he is Visiting Chair Professor at King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals.

His main research interests are in coordination and organometallic chemistry of platinum group metals where he has co-authored well over 600 scientific papers on synthesis, reaction mechanisms, homogeneous catalysis, and written several reviews and books. He was co-author of "Homogeneous Hydrogenation" (Kluwer, 1994) and co-editor of "Iridium Complexes in Organic Transformations" (Wiley-VCH, 2009) and "Metal Clusters in Chemistry" (Wiley-VCH, 1999). His laboratory has hosted a Marie Curie Training Site on Homogeneous Catalysis by Organometallic Complexes. PhD students and post-doctoral fellows from the entire world have worked in his laboratory.

Named "Highly Cited Researcher" in the field of Chemistry by ISI Web of Knowledge (2001). He is, or has been, a member of the editorial board of several scientific publications dealing with homogenous catalysis and inorganic and organometallic chemistry, including to be co-chairman of the Editorial Board of ChemCatChem. He is Series Editor of Topics in Organometallic Chemistry. He is President of the ChemPubSoc partnership for the European Journals of Inorganic (EurJIC) and Organic Chemistry (EurJOC), ChemCatChem and ChemPhotoChem. He has been invited lecturer at many relevant conferences, including being the chairman of the VI European Conference on Inorganic Chemistry (2000), the 13th International Symposium on Homogeneous Catalysis (2002), the XXII International Conference on Organometallic Chemistry (2006) and the Symposium on Metal Transition Homogenous Catalysis at the 43rd IUPAC Congress (2011).

He has received several distinctions and prizes: Lord Lewis Prize of de Royal Society of Chemistry, 2018; Doctor Honoris Causa, Universitat Rovira i Virgili, 2015; Lourenzo-Madinaveitia Award, 2015; EuCheMS Award, 2014; ICIQ Serratosa Medal, 2014; National Research Prize for Chemistry, 2007; Research Prize and Medal of the Royal Spanish Society of Chemistry, 2007; Zaragoza Gold Medal, 2007; Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Rennes I, 2005; Sacconi Medal, 2003; Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellow, 2003; Elhuyar-Goldsmidt Lecturership, 2002; Aragon Prize, 2001; Betancourt-Perronet Prize, 2001; King "Jaime I" Prize, 1999; Pacific NorthWest Inorganic Lecturership; 1998; Sabatier-Catalan Prize, 1997; Humboldt Research Award, 1995; Solvay Prize, 1989.

He is member of the National Academies of Germany and France (Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina and Academie des Sciences), the European Academy of Sciences, the Academia Europaea, and honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. He has been President of the European Association for Chemistry and Molecular Sciences (EuCheMS) (2008-2011), as well as vice-president of the European Science Foundation. He has also served in high level positions in the Spanish science administration, and since 2016 is member of the board of governors of the State Research Agency. He has also published various papers and books in the area of research and science policy.

Selected Publications

Links to some interviews

Favourites hobbies involve sports, specially skiing and mountaineering


Actividad de I+D+i realizada por la Universidad de Zaragoza a través de sus Institutos Universitarios de Investigación, propios y mixtos, financiada por el Gobierno de Aragón