

## Grupo Especializado de Química Organometálica Awards 2014

The Grupo Especializado de Química Organmetálica (GEQO; Organometallic Chemistry Group) of the Real Sociedad Española di Química (Royal Spanish Chemical Society) presented its inaugural awards in October 2014. We feature the winners here.

Julio Lloret-Fillol (Universitat de Girona) received the Young Scientist Award. Lloret studied at the Universitat de València, where he gained his doctorate under the supervision of Pascual Lahuerta and Julia Pérez-Prieto. From 2007-2010, he was a postdoctoral fellow with Lutz H. Gade at the University of Heidelberg, and in 2010, he took up a Ramon y Cajal research position at the Universitat de Girona. He was made a Young Research Group Leader at the Institut Català d'Investigació Química (ICIQ), Tarragona, in November 2014. Lloret-Fillol's research is focused on the development of sustainable catalysis, with the emphasis on catalysts for water oxidation and reduction, and the application of these catalytic systems to sustainable organic transformations. He has reported in Chemistry-A European Journal on the mechanism of water oxidation,<sup>[1a]</sup> and on catalytic hydrogen production.[1b]

Elena Fernández (Universitat Rovira i Vigili; URV) received the Award for Excellence in Organometallic Chemistry Research. Fernández studied at the Universitat de Barcelona, and was awarded her PhD in 1995 for work supervised by Sergio Castellón at the URV. From 1995-1997, she carried out postdoctoral research with John M. Brown at the University of Oxford, and in 1997, she joined the faculty at the URV. Fernandez and her research group are interested in transition-metalcatalyzed hydroboration, diboration, and β-boration processes, including highly selective (particularly enantioselective) methods for generating C-B bonds. She has reported in ChemCatChem on catalytic  $\beta$ -boration of  $\alpha,\beta$ -unsaturated imines,<sup>[2a]</sup> and in Angewandte Chemie on the activation of aminoboranes.[2b]

**Juan Forniés** (Universidad de Zaragoza) received the Gold Medal for Organometallic Chemistry Research. Forniés studied at the Universidad de Zaragoza, where he carried out his PhD (awarded in 1973) under the supervision of Rafael Usón. After postdoctoral work at the University of Bristol with F. Gordon A. Stone (1975–1976), he started his independent career at the Universidad de Zaragoza, where he was made Professor of Inorganic Chemistry in 1983. Fourniés and his research group are interested in the design, synthesis, structural studies, and properties of organometallic complexes of palladium and platinum. He has reported in *Chemistry*—A European *Journal* on the degradation of trifluoromethyl platinum(II) compounds,<sup>[3a]</sup> and in the *European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry* on platinum and palladium phosphanido derivatives.<sup>[3b]</sup>

### Hans G. A. Hellmann Prize for Christoph Jacob

Christoph Jacob (Technische Universität (TU) Braunschweig) has been awarded the Hans G. A. Hellmann Prize, which is presented by the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Theoretische Chemie (a collaboration of three German scientific societies) to researchers who are under the age of 40, working in German-speaking countries, and do not have a permanent academic position. Jacob studied at the Universities of Marburg, Karlsruhe, and Auckland, and carried out his PhD (awarded in 2007) with Lucas Visscher and Evert-Jan Baerends at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. He was a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Markus Reiher at the ETH Zurich (2008-2010) and was made independent junior research group leader at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in 2010. He accepted a position as Professor of Theoretical Chemistry at the TU Braunschweig in October 2014. Jacob's main research interests are the development of quantum-chemical methods for complex systems, which includes the development of subsystem and embedding methods as well as fundamental work in density-functional theory, and theoretical spectroscopy of large chemical systems. He has reported in Chemistry-A European Journal on XANES spectroscopy,<sup>[4a]</sup> and in ChemPhysChem on the vibrational spectra of large molecules.<sup>[4b]</sup>

Awarded ...



J. Lloret-Fillol



E. Fernández

- a) F. Acuña-Parés, Z. Codolà, M. Costas, J. M. Luis, J. Lloret-Fillol, *Chem. Eur. J.* **2014**, *20*, 5696; b) A. Call, Z. Codolà, F. Acuña-Parés, J. Lloret-Fillol, *Chem. Eur. J.* **2014**, *20*, 6171.
- [2] a) A. D. J. Calow, C. Solé, A. Whiting, E. Fernández, *ChemCatChem* 2013, 5, 2233; b) C. Solé, E. Fernández, *Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.* 2013, 52, 11351; *Angew. Chem.* 2013, 125, 11561.
- [3] a) S. Martínez-Salvador, J. Forniés, A. Martín, B. Menjón, I. Usón, *Chem. Eur. J.* 2013, *19*, 324; b) A. Arias, J. Forniés, C. Fortuño, A. Martín, P. Mastrorilli, V. Gallo, M. Latronico, S. Todisco, *Eur. J. Inorg. Chem.* 2014, 1679.
- [4] a) A. J. Atkins, C. R. Jacob, M. Bauer, *Chem. Eur. J.* **2012**, 18, 7021; b) P. T. Panek, C. R. Jacob, *Chem-PhysChem* **2014**, 15, 3365.

#### DOI: 10.1002/anie.201411215

In this section, we report on various awards for chemists who are closely connected with *Angewandte Chemie* and its sister journals as authors, referees, or board members.





C. Jacob



# News

## 

Grupo Especializado de Química Organometálica Prizes 2014: J. Lloret-Fillol, E. Fernández, and J. Forniés Hans G. A. Hellmann Prize: C. Jacob









C. Jacob

J. Lloret-Fillol

www.angewandte.org